Chicken Salad with Sesame Sauce

Jipbap Mama
5 min readJan 18, 2022

--

….Reminds me of a chef saying that cooking is fun when I have a sharp knife. I sharpened my knife yesterday, so it was really fun while I was slicing the salad ingredients. Enjoying the cooking process is always a pleasure, but sometimes I get a little depressed by unexpected results. I make a chicken salad and add a special sesame sauce today. I took out a lot of ingredients onto a counter for my own sesame sauce. I repeated adding and subtracting ingredients, and it was very difficult to find the taste I wanted. I used too many ingredients in it. While thinking about it, I found our taste that was not sweet. I finally made a slightly spicy dressing with sesame sauce for myself along with boiled chicken. A little bit of spiciness reduces the sweetness. It totally satisfied my craving and my husband and I ended up eating most of it. Maybe it will be a dressing just for my husband and me!!! I learned how difficult it is to make everyone’s favorite recipe.

Servings: 4

Time: 40 minutes plus 30 minutes for boiled chicken

Ingredients:

  1. 2 chicken breast, cut into half lengthwise
  2. 2 green onion, cut into 2 inches
  3. 10–15 black pepper corns
  4. 1/2 ts sea salt
  5. 3 cup water
  6. 2 cup cabbage, sliced thinly and soaked with cold water for 10 minutes
  7. 2 cup red cabbage, sliced thinly and soaked with cold water for 10 minutes
  8. 1/2 cucumber, sliced thinly and soaked with cold water for 10 minutes
  9. 1 stem celery, peeled, sliced thinly and soaked with cold water for 10 minutes
  10. 1/2 carrot, sliced thinly and soaked with cold water for 10 minutes

For sesame sauce:

  1. 2 Ts toasted sesame seeds
  2. 1 ts miso
  3. 1 ts garlic
  4. 1 dried red pepper
  5. 1 ts ginger juice
  6. 2 cm green onion
  7. 1 Ts fresh lemon juice
  8. 2 ts vinegar
  9. 2 ts balsamic vinegar
  10. 3 Ts olive oil
  11. 1 ts Mirin
  12. 2 ts soy sauce
  13. salt to taste
  14. black pepper to taste

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Heat a pot with medium high heat and add the water, chicken, black pepper corns, green onion, and sea salt into the pot to boil them for 5 minutes with a lid.

2. After boiling for 5 minutes and turn off the heat. Leave them for 30 minutes with the lid.

3. After 30 minutes, take out the chicken onto a tray and cool down.

4. Tear the boiled chicken thinly into a tray.

5. Sift the vegetables with a strainer separately and keep them in a refrigerator.

6. Mix the sesame sauce ingredients into a jar and blend them well with a blender. Keep it in a refrigerator.

7. Place the vegetables and chicken onto a serving plate with the sauce. Serve it.

You can also view this recipe on instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CY_90PgJKRH/

--

--

Jipbap Mama

I started organizing recipes that my family likes. I learned these recipes from some chefs and popular blogs. May my daughters remember mama's food.