Lemon Salt

Jipbap Mama
5 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

….The secret ingredient is lemon salt, do you know about it? It’s my first time hearing about this ingredient, but I found out about it through Chef @comble0’s YouTube. I really wanted to make it, but the secret ingredient, lemon salt! I’ve been procrastinating for a day or two, but yesterday I received a basket of Mayer lemons from a friend @hyunmi_leey who said they harvested them for the first time this year. Thankful friend!! The heartwarming gesture of always remembering and caring is so precious. Since I couldn’t find the premium salt recommended by the chef, I just chose regular salt, so making lemon salt is easy, but the waiting time for aging is 6 months… It’s a bit long, but I decided to put in the effort because I have to taste it after waiting. The chef said it’s good for recipes with lemon and salt and recommended it as a salad dressing, emphasizing that it’s also delicious with white cream sauce. Of course, it will be delicious! The chef’s recipes are always perfect for me without fail. The waiting time will make me excited again. Once it’s matured, I’ll have to let my friend taste it too. As I closed the lid of the glass jar, I whispered, “Become delicious! Become delicious!” Chef recommends shaking it up and down every 2–3 days, and after about 1–2 months, it becomes liquefied. It is advised that after 5–6 months at a cool room temperature, when it turns into a gelatinous state, it’s good to keep it in the fridge and use it gradually. Even after 1–2 years, it maintains its excellent flavor, which makes me even more curious.

Servings: 1000ml x 2 bottles

Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  1. 1500 g of organic Meyer lemons, clean them with baking soda and cut each into 6 wedges
  2. 450–500 g Le Saunier De Camargue sea salt
  3. baking soda for cleaning

Cooking Instructions:

  1. To sterilize the glass jar, place it upside-down in a pot filled with water. Once the water begins to boil, let it boil for 10 minutes over low heat.

2. If there is sufficient moisture in the glass jar, turn off the heat and allow it to dry.

3. In order to clean the lemons, sprinkle baking soda on them, and rub them thoroughly with both hands.

4. Rinse them with running water 2–3 times and place them into a strainer.

5. Pat dry with paper towels.

6. Remove both ends of the lemon and cut each into 6 wedges. When grinding after ripening, remove the lemon seeds and grind.

7. Layer the sterilized jar with lemons and salt, pressing firmly. If there are lemon leaves, cover the top with them.

8. Store the bottle in a cool place and shake it up and down every 2–3 days. After about 1–2 months, it will become liquefied. It is advised that after 5–6 months at a cool room temperature, when it turns into a gelatinous state, it’s best to keep it in the fridge and use it gradually. Even after 1–2 years, it maintains its excellent flavor.

You can also view this recipe on Instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C3xvXBSRXQ8/?img_index=3

--

--

Jipbap Mama

I started organizing recipes that my family likes. I learned these recipes from some chefs and popular blogs. May my daughters remember mama's food.