Pan- Fried Asparagus and Beef

Jipbap Mama
5 min readMay 16, 2024

--

….Asparagus season runs from late March to June, though you can probably find it year-round at the grocery store. During this season, bringing a bunch of asparagus has become a habit, as it is a versatile ingredient that everyone in the family loves due to its freshness. My second granddaughter, Jiwoo, is also learning new flavors and eagerly holding a piece of asparagus in her hand, trying hard to remember the taste. Today, I made delicious pan-fried jeon, which my mother used to make with generously seasoned beef and Dureup during springtime. Since I couldn’t find Dureup here, I prepared it by skewering crunchy asparagus instead. I coated it with flour and egg, then cooked it over low heat with care until the meat was cooked through. As I follow my mother’s recipe, I am so grateful for the memories I hold. It warms my heart to remember all the things I did with my mother when I was young, and it’s fun to cook them now. While I was unaware, a fly buzzes around, attracted by the aroma of the jeon. I try to catch it, but it disappears in no time. Placing the beautifully cooked asparagus jeon on a plate and taking a short break, I find an uninvited guest busy rubbing its legs on my food! “Oh no!” I shout, “What do I do with this… lovely jeon?!” Without hesitation, I make another batch of jeon, sweating through it all. The day ends with memory, of course, after chasing away the uninvited guest and enjoying the delicious freshly made jeon peacefully at dinner. This recipe is from @booth108kwon.

Servings: 4–5

Time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

  1. 14 asparagus stems, with the bottoms of the stems peeled
  2. 400 g ground beef
  3. 3–4 tbsp flour
  4. 3 eggs, beaten
  5. avocado oil to taste

For soy sauce marinated beef:

  1. 2 tbsp sweet rice powder
  2. 2/3 tsp sea salt
  3. 1 tbsp sake
  4. 2 tsp garlic, minced
  5. 1.5 tbsp Mat-Gan-Jang
  6. 2 tbsp green onion, minced
  7. black pepper to taste

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Put the ground beef into a tray. Add the sweet rice powder, sea salt, sake, garlic, Mat-Gan-Jang, green onion, and black pepper to the beef, and mix them well.

2. Skewer 7 asparagus spears side by side.

3. Coat the asparagus lightly with flour on both sides.

4. Spread the seasoned meat thinly over the asparagus.

5. Sprinkle some flour over the beef lightly.

6. Beat the egg (adding some sea salt) with a whisk and dip the asparagus skewers in the beaten egg on both sides.

7. Heat a pan over low heat and add some avocado oil and the asparagus skewers to the pan. Pan-fry until the beef is cooked well.

8. Take off the skewers and cut into one-and-a-half-inch pieces (or half). Serve with soy sauce (Mat-gan-Jang: vinegar: sesame oil = 1 tbsp: 1 tbsp: 3 drops).

You can also view this recipe on Instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/p/C7EpmNXRffH/?img_index=3

--

--

Jipbap Mama

I started organizing recipes that my family likes. I learned these recipes from some chefs and popular blogs. May my daughters remember mama's food.