Seasoned Chili Pepper with Soybean Paste

Jipbap Mama
4 min readAug 23, 2023

--

….I finally got to taste the soybean paste that @rinda.rejouissances sent me a few months ago. After boiling some beans and adding them to the soybean paste, I let them ferment for a few months. It has matured beautifully, and the time was well worth it. I am sincerely grateful for the thought you put into sending it. Today, I made my grandma’s simple side dish. In my childhood, my grandma’s table was adorned with vegetables grown in our easily accessible garden during the summer. Young pumpkin leaves were placed on one side of the rice to steam them and then dipped in soybean paste, while fresh green peppers were picked and enjoyed by dipping them directly into the soybean paste. These are the foods I’ve been eating since I was young, and they still taste delicious without feeling heavy whenever I eat them. Today, I cut the green peppers to make them easy to eat, added a bit of seasoning and dried apricots to create an interesting texture. My husband asked me, “Did you put jelly in this?” Oh, that could be possible… the dried apricots seemed to give a jelly-like taste and texture. The two ingredients blended harmoniously without any rejection. However, it’s best to add the dried apricots before eating; over time, they absorb moisture and become soggy. Furthermore, grilling pork neck meat until it’s crispy and serving it alongside was also the perfect combination on the table.

Servings: 4

Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 10 fresh chili peppers, cut into small pieces
  • 2 tbsp soybean paste (Korean soybean paste)
  • 2/3 tbsp gochujang
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 6–8 dried apricots, sliced

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Combine the soybean paste, gochujang, honey, garlic, and sesame oil in a bowl and mix well.

2. Add the chili peppers to the tray and gently mix them with the blended soybean sauce.

3. Add the dried apricots and sesame seeds to the tray and mix them gently.

4. Serve it as a side dish or alongside grilled pork neck.

You can also view this recipe on instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CwXrPuxsEhi/

--

--

Jipbap Mama

I started organizing recipes that my family likes. I learned these recipes from some chefs and popular blogs. May my daughters remember mama's food.