Tuna Tataki

Jipbap Mama
6 min readJul 16, 2023

--

Tuna Tataki is finished with a sauce unique to each restaurant. It’s been a long time since we’ve been searching for a @seiyarestaurant in San Carlos. All dishes are places that capture our hearts as signatures. Today, among them, I came prepared by remembering Tataki, which seemed to be the easiest visually and in terms of taste. Although I was disappointed that I couldn’t obtain the unique sauce, I was still able to create my own Tataki. Instead of lightly grilling the tuna, this dish uses a cooking technique where the tuna is blanched in boiling water for 30 seconds and immediately cooled in ice water to maintain its freshness. Additionally, this dish is topped with poached eggs and finished off with a signature sauce and house-made soy sauce. Following the instructions, I mixed everything with a spoon and enjoyed it in a delightful way. Instead of the sauce, I could have topped it with yuzu kosho and finished it off with my own soy sauce. It wasn’t exactly the same, but “Yes! This is the taste!” It brings me happiness to discover the flavor I desire.

Servings: 2–3

Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  1. 200 g fresh tuna fillet
  2. 2–3 eggs
  3. 3 tbsp comble tzuyu
  4. Mat-Gan-Jang to taste
  5. baby greens to taste
  6. Seaweed to taste, cut into small pieces
  7. dried seaweed to taste
  8. katsuobushi to taste
  9. yuzu kosho to taste

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Heat a pot over medium-high heat and add 1000 ml of water to the pot. Cover the pot with a lid and bring the water to a boil.

2. After the water has come to a boil, turn off the heat and carefully add 700 ml of cold water to the pot.

3. Place the egg into the pot, cover it with the lid, and let it poach for 20 minutes.

4. After 20 minutes, carefully remove the egg from the pot and transfer it to a plate. Crack the egg into a small bowl.

5. Heat a pot over medium heat and add 4 cups of water to the pot. Cover the pot with a lid and bring the water to a boil.

6. After the water has come to a boil, blanch the fresh tuna fillet for 30 seconds.

7. After 30 seconds, transfer the tuna fillet into ice water for 30 seconds, and then place it on a tray.

8. Slice the poached tuna into 1/2-inch pieces.

9. Place some seaweed into a serving bowl.

10. Place the sliced tuna on top of the seaweed.

11. Place the poached egg on top of the tuna, then add some greens on the side.

12. Drizzle the tsuyu into the bowl.

13. Add a pinch of yuzu kosho, dried seaweed, and katsuobushi on top of the tataki bowl.

14. Serve it.

--

--

Jipbap Mama

I started organizing recipes that my family likes. I learned these recipes from some chefs and popular blogs. May my daughters remember mama's food.